York Symphony -Classical 2
Place & Time
Appell Center for the Performing Arts
York PA US
October 30, 2021
7:30 PM

Classical Series - LIVE & DIGITAL ACCESS
Mr. & Mrs. Schumann
Lawrence Golan, conductor
Stephanie Cheng, Piano

ROBERT SCHUMANN Overture, Scherzo and Finale
ROBERT SCHUMANN Symphony No. 1 (“Spring”)

Romantic era composers Clara & Robert Schuman intertwined their music compositions as they collaborated and shared their love of music. In celebration of their marriage, Robert created the festive Overture, Scherzo And Finale. Written as teenager, Clara composed the Piano Concerto with its contrasting, dramatic themes. Acclaimed pianist Stephanie Cheng will perform the Piano Concerto’s brilliant & demanding solo. Lastly, Robert wrote the amorous, uplifting “Spring” Symphony No. 1, which inspired by a German poet about spring bloom.

Back to List
Back to Top