York Symphony -Classical 4
Place & Time
Appell Center for the Performing Arts
York PA US
February 19, 2022
7:30 PM

Classical Series - LIVE & DIGITAL ACCESS
Dvorak's New World
Lawrence Golan, conductor
Billy Ray Hunter, Jr., Principal Trumpet of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra

DUKE ELLINGTON Black, Brown & Beige Suite
ALEXANDER ARUTIUNIAN Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra
ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 9 “New World”

Dvorak created his New World symphony to honor America’s musical roots in black spirituals and to challenge popular styles of that era. Premiered in 1943, Duke Ellington orchestrated his Black, Brown & Beige Suite in honor of African American history in 3 movements: slavery, emancipation, and contemporary history. Principal Trumpet of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra Billy Ray Hunter Jr. performs the popular showpiece, Alexander Arutiunian’s Trumpet Concerto.

Back to List
Back to Top